How Do You Wipe Out Your Computer Before You Sell It?

How do you wipe a computer clean to sell it?

For Windows 10, go to the Start Menu and click on Settings.

Then navigate to Update & Security, and find the Recovery menu.

Next, select Reset this PC and choose Get Started.

Follow the instructions to revert your computer back to when it was first unboxed..

How do I wipe my hard drive but keep Windows 10?

You can choose to preserve just your personal files or to erase everything, depending on what you need. Go to Start > Settings > Update & security > Recovery, click Get started and select the appropriate option. Then follow the on-screen instructions to restore Windows 10 to a factory fresh state.

Does emptying recycle bin permanently delete?

You can easily empty the recycle bin on your Windows 10 computer and permanently remove files from your PC. Once you empty your recycle bin, the content is gone forever, unless you saved it on an external hard drive or the cloud. Emptying the recycle bin on your computer can help to free up some hard drive space.

Does wiping a hard drive remove the operating system?

Use DBAN and Reinstall Windows You’d need to reinstall Windows again after wiping the hard drive. When all is said and done, it’s worth noting that you cannot wipe everything off a hard drive except the OS in a single operation. … They are not secure ways of wiping a hard drive while leaving the OS intact.

Will formatting a hard drive erase Windows?

Formatting the hard drive is a bit more secure than simply erasing the files. Formatting a disk does not erase the data on the disk, only the address tables. … However a computer specialist would be able to recover most or all the data that was on the disk before the reformat.

How do you permanently erase data so that it Cannot be recovered?

To make sure that a single file can’t be recovered, you can use a “file-shredding” application such as Eraser to delete it. When a file is shredded or erased, not only is it deleted, but its data is overwritten entirely, preventing other people from recovering it.

How do you delete everything on your computer?

Navigate to Settings > Update & Security > Recovery. You should see a title that says “Reset this PC.” Click Get Started. You can either select Keep my files or Remove everything. The former resets your options to default and removes uninstalled apps, like browsers, but keeps your data intact.

How do I wipe my computer before returning it?

Go to the Settings menu, then Update & Security > Recovery > Reset This PC. Make sure you select the option to remove everything, including your personal files.

How do I wipe my hard drive without deleting Windows?

Click Windows menu and go to “Settings” > “Update & Security” > “Reset this PC” > “Get started” > “Remove everything” > “Remove files and clean the drive”, and then follow the wizard to finish the process.

How do I wipe my laptop clean?

Android Tablets: As with Android smartphones, the precise menu steps for doing a factory reset can vary across devices. Find the option closest to “Backup and reset” on your device, scroll down to “Reset,” and confirm your selection.

How do I permanently delete everything off my laptop?

Head to the Start screen, find the Charms bar, click on Settings and then hit Change PC settings. Finally, choose Remove Everything and Reinstall Windows. When you choose to erase data, make sure you click on the “throughly” option rather than the “quickly” as a safety measure.

How do I clean out my computer?

How to clean your computer, Step 1: HardwareWipe down your computer. … Clean Your keyboard. … Blow dust buildup out of computer vents, fans and accessories. … Run check disk tool. … Check surge protector. … Keep PC ventilated. … Back up your hard drives. … Get antivirus software to protect from malware.More items…

How do I wipe everything off my laptop Windows 10?

How to Reset Your Windows 10 PCNavigate to Settings. … Select “Update & security”Click Recovery in the left pane.Click either “Keep my files” or “Remove everything,” depending on whether you want to keep your data files intact. … Select Just remove my files or Remove files and clean the drive if you chose “Remove everything” in the prior step.More items…•